Powerless

 
I slept with Sadness last night
And this is the story he told
You can’t save them, he said
There’s no such things as super
heroes

There’s no swinging from
a vine

Just in the nick
of time
There’s no flying from
up high

To snatch missiles
out of the sky
There’s no bright red
cape
To deflect the bullets
of hate
And there’s no power
in you
To change the destiny
of fools

You are but human
nothing super about
you

I awoke with Fear
this morning
With a story he
had yet to tell
So I closed my eyes
To his truths
As we all learn to do
so well

After all I’m only
human
Nothing super
about me
Not my heart
Not my love
Not these arms
That are forever
reaching
…for something
only super heroes
can envision

This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

